24 days left

In just 24 work days and 5 weeks from today I will re-enter familiar territory: unemployment. *DUN DUN DUN!*

Unfortunately, on March 31st, my time at the Denver Broncos will end and Job Hunt 2014 (the sequel to the popular Job Hunt 2013) will begin. When I started with the Broncos in August, I knew that the position would be temporary. I got lucky when my December 31st end date turned into a March 31st end date, but (just like the Broncos) my luck seemed to recently run out. Being moved to a permanent position was a possibility that was discussed with my boss and trust me, I crossed my fingers as much as possible in hopes that would work out. However, when there was only one graphic designer doing all the work (and probably being miserable 24/7) only three years ago, it’s hard to make a case to upper management to sign on a fourth full-time designer even if the work load is there. Fair enough.

So here I am, back in the job market which is quite possibly my least favorite thing ever. I don’t like the uncertainty, the stress and the endless applications. After finding out my fate for sure last Friday, I took the weekend to kind of mope about it (aka cry to my boyfriend and panic), but now I’m ready to face the job hunt with confidence. Things are a little different than the last time I was looking for a job, which may or may not be a good thing.

For one thing, I’m in my own apartment in Denver and will be until (at least) December. So my search is definitely more narrow than last time. With my own apartment comes my own bills and the pressure is definitely on to get settled somewhere new and get that paycheck fast. Welcome to adulthood, right?

On the other hand, I’ve got some seriously great post-grad experience under my belt. Working with the Broncos has been an unbelievable, incredible, once-in-a-lifetime experience and I am so beyond grateful to have been here — especially the year the team made it to their first Super Bowl in 15 years! Besides from all the cool stuff that comes with working for a professional football team, I feel like my design skills have improved exponentially. I look at some of the projects that I did in my first few weeks and what I have done recently, and the difference in quality seems drastic.

Aside from the experience and skills this position has given me, I feel like it has given me some valuable perspective. I love doing design, but I’m not so sure I want to be just a designer. At times, I have felt like I was just churning projects and when I was stuck in a creative rut, that was quite the struggle. I feel like no matter what I do, I will try to utilize my design skills and hopefully continue to do graphic projects. But, that’s not all I want to do. Branching out just a little might be difficult since most of my experience  over the past three years has focused on design, but I think I have learned a lot from working with the marketing team and would be able to offer valuable insight in a different role.

So this time I am ready. Instead of being a nervous, recent college grad, I’ve dipped my toes in to the “real world”, gained some confidence, sharpened my skills and had some awesome professional experience. SO BRING IT ON, JOB HUNT 2014!

2 comments

  1. […] how I only had a handful of days remaining before facing the horrifying world of unemployment? Well, plot twist — that doesn’t seem […]

  2. […] sending emails to check on the process later on). But, considering the fact that I was literally counting down the days until unemployment and didn’t really have any serious leads at that point, I decided to try […]

Leave a Reply

