The exciting conclusion to “Job Hunt 2013”

Say hello to the new office.

My new office, Sports Authority Field at Mile High Stadium

Sports Authority Field at Mile High Stadium

After trying to decide which city to live in, Denver ultimately prevailed mostly because of this opportunity. On Monday, I will start as the new graphic design assistant with the marketing department for the Denver Broncos (like, what!? I’m so excited and I still can’t believe it). And, yes that is the actual office, since I will be working at Mile High Stadium. I will also get to work on some projects for the Denver Outlaws (outdoor lacrosse), Denver Cutthroats (minor league hockey) and Stadium Management Company. I will get to work on a bit of everything from promotional materials and print publications, to web design and larger prints. Based on what they have told me so far, I will be crazy busy. Better busy than bored! Ultimately, I decided that this job would give me better experience in the industry and would help me in the future, so it was worth sticking around the 303 for a little longer.

Everything is moving quickly as I got a call for the interview on Friday, interviewed Monday and got an offer on Tuesday. Not only do I start on Monday, but I will be in California from Thursday until Sunday for my uncle’s wedding. Talk about life going from 0 to 60.

While the position is full-time, unfortunately it only runs until December 31, 2013. There is a chance that the position could lead to more opportunities with the team, but there are no guarantees. So win-win? I get to stay in Denver and have some more time to get my life figured it out, and maybe down the road I can head to ATL (or whatever city I decide to conquer next). And for all my friends cheering for me to move back east, as Emily said, Denver may have won the battle, but there is still a war. Stay tuned for Job Hunt 2014.

My family is also obviously very excited about the job. My dad has had season tickets for longer than I can remember and my family is all about the Broncos. I was practically raised for this.

Me as a Junior Denver Broncos Cheerleader circa 2000

Me as a Junior Denver Broncos Cheerleader circa 2000. And for the record, I HATED that haircut.

There are still a couple of kinks to work out including how I am going to get my car back from Raleigh and the 1,600 miles I drove last summer, as well as what to do with the rest of my belongings and whether or not I want to keep living at home or get an apartment out here for now.

I can’t wait to finally start my new job and this next chapter! Thanks to everyone who has supported me through this awkward post-grad, pre-employment phase! Go Broncos!

7 comments

  1. Chandra thomas · · Reply

    Jordan we are so excited for you! You are such an amazing young adult and we can not wait to see all you accomplish. Please keep us posted.
    Love you,
    The Thomas family
    P.S. josh was wondering if you have any tickets to games that you may not be using?:-)

    1. Thanks so much Chandra! I’m not sure about “perks of the job” quite yet but Josh can be first in line 🙂

  2. Hey Alexa, I’ve read your 20something profile and some of your blog posts, and they’re all really great. And congrats on the job! I just graduated as well, and I’m still looking for a job. I’ve applied for so many sports jobs and plenty of other jobs, but nothing has worked out yet.I loved reading about your post-grad life and job hunt, and hopefully I can secure something soon as well. Good luck in the rest of your year in Denver!

    1. Thanks so much for reading! And it can be difficult but don’t give up just yet! Good luck

  3. […] hard to believe this is only the fourth week I have been at my new job — like actually hard to believe. Everything in the office moves fast, so it seems more like I […]

  4. […] on March 31st, my time at the Denver Broncos will end and Job Hunt 2014 (the sequel to the popular Job Hunt 2013) will begin. When I started with the Broncos in August, I knew that the position would be […]

  5. […] is my last day working with the Denver Broncos — and man, what an experience it has been. When I first started in August of last year, I really had no idea what I was in for. My first day was less than ten days before […]

Leave a Reply

