Life after graduation (so far)

On Sunday, I graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and three days later, it still stings a little to say that. Yes, I was the girl who cried through most of the commencement address. I mean, let’s be real — I cried before I left the house. If you know me well, you know that I am absolutely, madly in love with this university and saying goodbye (even if I might not have to) hurts. A lot. But eventually I’ve got to embrace it.

So what is life like after graduation? Well here is a quick the emotional roller-coaster I have been on for the past 72 hours:

Sad.
Every once in a while it hits me that it is really all over. I’m really done with college and, with no plans to go to grad school, formal education. Like what? But that’s not the sad part. I can’t just wander up to Top of the Hill whenever I crave a blueberry beer. The Dean Dome and Kenan Stadium will be a little father and unless I manage to strike gold in the next few months, my visits there will be quite numbered. And quite possibly the worst is saying goodbye to someone and not being able to exactly put your finger on when you will see them again. Yes, post-grad life so far is a bit sad.

This is me BEFORE graduation. Check out the puffy red eyes. Clearly happy to be graduating.

Extremely stressful.
My family stayed in town a couple days after graduation and I made sure to spend sometime with them. But after they left yesterday, I had to head on face the fact that I have to completely move out of my apartment and pack for my upcoming trip (see exciting). It’s A LOT to do in just a couple of days, but it helps that we had to shut the internet and cable off early (currently blogging from borrowed internet). Locked in my room and being forced to pack is actually a good thing.

Not only is packing stressful, but yes, I still have no idea what I am doing when I get back from my trip. But I’m just going to ignore that until I get back.

Exciting.
With the stress in the way, it’s been kind of hard to get really excited. But when I sit and think about the fact that I am going to spend about a month traveling Europe with some of my best friends, I get giddy.

It is going to be an awesome trip and since I have never left the country before, I couldn’t be more excited. I’m planning on blogging there but I won’t be bringing my computer so we will see how that works out.

So yes, there has been quite a few emotions over the past few days. But there’s no going back now!

2 comments

  1. […] and friends and seriously can’t wait to get this next chapter going. For the first time since graduation (almost an entire year!), it is such an incredible relief to know that I will have a permanent […]

  2. […] is so hard to believe I graduated from UNC an entire year ago. As my Facebook and Instagram timeline filled up with nostalgic posts from both […]

Leave a Reply

