Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers said it best.

The waiting is the hardest part.

Honestly, I am not exactly in the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers demographic, but my dad frequently belts out that chorus in instances such as the one I find myself in right now.

So with graduation literally right around the corner, now is about the time where “what are you doing next year?” turns into “what are you doing next month?” But my answer is the still same — waiting.

Imagine this — someone with pretty good merit who you have worked with (and enjoyed working with) tells you they might have a job for you, but the details and specs need to be worked out. Now, imagine this job is about as close as you’re going to get to a dream job fresh out of college (and maybe even a few years out of college). Worth the wait right?

A couple weeks pass. Nothing.

A few more weeks later and still no “official” word.

Around now is when you should chime in. And the response you get? Keep waiting.

I’m not the most patient person and this is most definitely testing my patience, but if it comes through, it will definitely be worth it. This is the best possible job I could have after graduation. I might be putting too many eggs in one basket, but this is definitely the best basket.

I hope that in the end, waiting works out for the best. If it works out, its better than anything else I could have imagined. If not, I’m in no better or worse position than I am now, right?

The waiting is the hardest part.

One comment

  1. […] you know that I am absolutely, madly in love with this university and saying goodbye (even if I might not have to) hurts. A lot. But eventually I’ve got to embrace […]

Leave a Reply

