Sports Stories: Jamari Traylor

Story: Jamari Traylor finds a home at KU by Jason King/ESPN

I’m not much of a Kansas basketball fan (I blame eternal bitterness about the 2012 NCAA tournament), but I can respect the program’s tradition and history. In Kansas, basketball is everything. I mean, the inventor of basketball was KU’s first head coach, and the KU coaching legend has spread across the country. Coaches like Dean Smith and Roy Williams got their start at Kansas, and obviously those guys are okay with me.

What makes this story interesting is redshirt freshman Jamari Traylor’s life before playing for Kansas lacked the glory and prestige of the program. However, through basketball, Traylor’s life has transformed. In the article, he is quoted, “Being here is completely different. I don’t have to worry about having a roof over my head. I don’t have to worry about food. I don’t have to worry about anyone doing anything crazy to me. People here care about me. They really care.

Kansas is currently ranked the 6th team in the nation and Traylor has made contributions to get that team there and stay there. But maybe, Kansas helped Traylor even more.

If you get the time to read it, let me know what you think in the comments! And as always, if you have any sports stories worth sharing, let me know in the comments or tweet at me (@aburrell)!

Leave a Reply

