Starting off the summer

The following blog post was featured as a part of CAFME’s Summer Intern Diaries for 2012. I contributed by writing about my internship at Carolina Woman magazine.


Hey CAFME members!

This summer I am interning at Carolina Woman magazine. Officially, I am the graphic design/mixed media intern and am responsible for working with the design editor and with social media. However, I am quickly learning that at a magazine, you often have to step outside of your “official responsibilities” and pitch in to get the issue out.

I found out about this internship through CAFME and an email sent over the listserv. I hadn’t originally planned on doing an internship this summer since I am taking classes and helping out at the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association office at the j-school. But, I was worried I would “get bored” over the summer (yeah right) and decided to apply for a few internships. I was extremely excited to get an interview at Carolina Woman, since it was a publication and internship program that I had heard of and was interested in. I was especially looking for a more hands-on internship. A lot of internships I had done in the past were remote internships, and I was really looking for some experience in an actual office where I had the ability to see the day-to-day functions of a magazine.

My interview consisted of a quick question-and-answer and a skills test, which turned out to be proof reading the annual Carolina Woman guide to the Triangle. Already I could tell I was going to be in for some hard work.

Luckily, the editors at Carolina Woman thought I was an excellent candidate and offered me the position. I also work with two other interns and the staff members of the magazine.  I feel really lucky to be given this opportunity and am ready to work hard. I can’t wait to see what this summer has in store!

Leave a Reply

