UNC basketball Blue Steel shirts

Yesterday was one of those “this is why I do this” days.

Last semester, I was asked by some members of Camp Kesem North Carolina to design a shirt for the walk-ons of the UNC basketball team. In 2011, the walk-ons, known as Blue Steel became popular for their jokes on Twitter and ability to win the crowd Bojangles biscuits every time the Heels scored 100+ points. They made a shirt for the 2010-2011 season and proceeds benefited Camp Kesem NC. The team and Camp Kesem wanted to do another shirt for the 2012 season. As a huge Tar Heel fan, this was an opportunity that I could not pass up.

After several drafts, a design was chosen and the shirts were finally put into production. Blue Steel announced yesterday and posted a link to order the shirts.

I was beyond ecstatic to see my work out there, and it is awesome to know that people are going to be wearing the shirt I designed. But it only got better!

Kendall Marshall, former UNC point guard and by far my favorite player, tweeted about the shirts and retweeted me. My life is now complete.

I loved working on the shirts. Make sure to order them here!

Leave a Reply

